A domain name consists of several parts, which together form a hierarchical structure. The main components of a domain name include:

  1. Top-Level Domain (TLD):
    • This is the last part of the domain name, appearing after the final dot. Examples include .com.org.net.edu, and country code TLDs like .uk.jp, etc.
  2. Second-Level Domain (SLD):
    • This is the part of the domain name directly to the left of the TLD. For example, in example.comexample is the SLD. It is often the most recognizable and brand-specific part of the domain name.
  3. Subdomain:
    • This is a prefix to the SLD and can be used to organize or navigate different sections of a website. For example, in blog.example.comblog is a subdomain. Subdomains can be used to point to different servers or services within the same domain.
  4. Host Name:
    • Sometimes, the host name and subdomain can be considered the same, but technically, the host name can refer to the actual name of a specific server in a network. In www.example.comwww is traditionally the host name.
  5. Fully Qualified Domain Name (FQDN):
    • This is the complete domain name for a specific computer or host on the internet. It includes the host name, subdomain, SLD, and TLD. For instance, www.blog.example.com is an FQDN.

Here is a breakdown of a sample domain name: www.sub.example.com

  • TLD.com
  • SLDexample
  • Subdomainsub
  • Host Namewww
  • FQDNwww.sub.example.com

Understanding these components is crucial for managing domain names effectively and for setting up various web services correctly.

Register your expectation domains now!

About domain registration tips